Digital Asset Management: 3 impacts of 2020

As several European countries begin a second lockdown, we look back at the evolution of usages observed among Keepeek DAM users since the beginning of the health crisis. In what ways have working from home and lockdown modified usages of our photo library, video library or media library software?

Temporary decrease of content uploads

In April/May 2020, Keepeek users uploaded fewer assets than usual. There was a decrease of about 23% in uploads on our SaaS platform. With photographers and filmmakers in lockdown, new content production quickly came to a standstill for many companies. However, this slowdown did not last. Indeed, the recovery was relatively fast, with usage in September/October equivalent to that of January/February 2020.

Distribution of internal communication videos

Many of our clients used Keepeek to broadcast video messages from their management to their employees. In this period of uncertainty, following the management communications was essential for the staff. The public sharing of videos made it possible to safely provide these internal communication videos. Videos were also shared on the company intranets and links could be sent easily by email or text, in full confidentiality.

Strong increase in the use of collaborative features

Our Boards extension, useful to organize assets in columns, just like Trello, experienced a new boom from April (+137% of uses). Several of our customers took advantage of the drop in production to work on their processes and implement new totally dematerialized workflows. They were thus able to continue working remotely, but still in close collaboration.

The boards, which can be configured in a few seconds for customized uses, have thus been deployed in various contexts:

Selection of images to illustrate product catalog pages

Providing a team with a choice of photos in a secure workspace proved judicious for catalog production. By using a board for each double page, the time spent at each step of the catalog production process was reduced by almost 50%, according to one of our clients.

Retouching request and validation

The boards provided useful advantages for retouching requests:

Direct access to all assets requiring retouching.

– Display of retouched files for examination and verification in the same space.

Comments and guidelines directly on image areas and on video time codes.

All these features allowed our customers to continue to move projects forwards, in a remote configuration.

Shooting validations

A simple and fast workflow, to edit images coming from photo shoots or reports, required just three columns: image repository, selected images and rejected images).

Infinite possibilities

At Keepeek, we used the boards during the lockdown for our illustration projects!

An enduring use

Board use did not slow down after the first lockdown, quite the opposite. New workflows have even drastically accelerated. At Keepeek, an increase of +263% in board use has been observed from June until today, compared to its use during the first lockdown.

Let’s talk!

What about you, have you noticed any changes in your own uses during this particular year? Would you like to discuss them and share your experiences with other DAM administrators? If so, fill out the form below and we will contact you to arrange it!

Digital Asset Management : 3 impacts de 2020

Alors que la France entame un deuxième confinement, nous revenons sur l’évolution des usages constaté auprès des utilisateurs du DAM Keepeek depuis le début de la crise sanitaire. En quoi le travail à distance et le confinement ont-ils modifié l’utilisation de notre logiciel photothèque, vidéothèque ou médiathèque ?

Les impacts de 2020 sur les usages du Digital Asset Management

Baisse temporaire d’alimentation en médias 

En avril/mai 2020, les utilisateurs de Keepeek ont importé moins de médias qu’à l’ordinaire. On a pu constater une baisse d’environ 23% des imports sur notre plateforme SaaS. Les photographes et réalisateurs étant confinés, la production de nouveaux médias s’est arrêtée net pour beaucoup d’entreprises. Cependant, ce ralentissement n’a pas duré. La reprise de l’activité s’est en effet faite relativement rapidement, avec une utilisation en septembre/octobre redevenue équivalente à celle de janvier/février 2020.

Diffusion des vidéos de communication interne

Plusieurs de nos clients ont privilégié Keepeek pour diffuser les messages vidéos de leur direction à destination de leurs employé·e·s. En cette période d’incertitude, suivre les prises de parole régulières de la direction a été essentiel pour les salarié·e·s. Le partage public des vidéos a permis de mettre à disposition largement ces vidéos de communication interne. Les vidéos ont ainsi pu être partagées sur les intranets des entreprises. Les liens ont pu être envoyés facilement par email ou par sms, en toute confidentialité. 

Forte augmentation de l’usage des modules collaboratifs

Notre module Tableaux, qui permet d’organiser ses médias en colonnes “à la Trello”, a connu un nouvel essor à partir d’avril (+137% d’utilisations). Plusieurs de nos clients ont profité de la baisse de production pour travailler sur leurs processus de travail et mettre en place de nouveaux workflows totalement dématérialisés. Ils ont ainsi pu continuer à travailler à distance, mais en étroite collaboration. 

Les tableaux, paramétrables en quelques secondes pour un usage sur mesure, ont ainsi été déployés dans divers contextes : 

Sélection des images illustrant les pages de catalogues produits

Proposer un choix de photos pour faire la sélection à plusieurs, sur un espace de travail sécurisé s’est avéré judicieux. En effet, en utilisant un tableau pour chaque double page, le temps passé à chaque étape de la production du catalogue a été réduit de près de 50% chez l’un de nos clients.

Demande et validation des retouches

Mettre à disposition facilement les médias à retoucher. Pouvoir vérifier les fichiers retouchés au même endroit. Eviter les échanges de mails. Commenter directement sur les images et vidéos en cas de besoin. Toutes ces fonctionnalités ont permis à nos clients de continuer à avancer sur leurs projets de manière fluide, à distance.

Validation de reportages

Workflow simple et rapide, un editing des images avec trois colonnes (dépôt, images choisies et images refusées), comme celui-ci :

tableau Kanban simple de workflow d'editing de reportage photo

Un usage qui se pérennise

L’utilisation des tableaux n’a pas freiné après le premier confinement, bien au contraire. Cette nouvelle organisation du travail a même drastiquement accéléré. On a constaté chez Keepeek une augmentation de l’utilisation des tableaux de +263% à partir de juin et jusqu’à aujourd’hui, par rapport à son utilisation pendant le confinement.

Parlons-en !

Et vous, avez-vous constaté des évolutions dans vos propres usages pendant cette année particulière ? Souhaiteriez-vous en discuter et partager vos expériences avec d’autres administrateurs de DAM ? Si oui, remplissez le formulaire ci-dessous et nous vous contacterons pour arranger tout ça !